MAC Matte Liquid Lipstick- Review

Hello Again!

Today I am going to ‘unbox’ and review a MAC matte liquid lipstick! This was given to me a gift by someone, so please dooooon’t judge me for the colour.

Full disclaimer here, I have no idea what I am doing! haha I have never applied liquid lipstick before and I am far from having a steady hand. I also don’t really wear lipstick, whether its liquid or a stick so this was very new for me. I also had no idea how to remove it which was fun to figure out. So if you have any tips PLEASE share!! Without further ado, let’s get started!

Okay, the packaging is nice. Standard MAC black box, very simple nothing crazy. OH LOOK, the colour is Fuchsia Flicker… I don’t know how I feel about that, but I am intrigued.

Well here it is. To be honest the actual tube design is really cute. I like that you can see the colour of the product. It’s easy to open and not too big, so I could fit this in my purse or what ever if I ever wanted to take it with me anywhere. This colour has me nervous though…

OUU GURL. The applicator is soft and spongy, but still firm to be able to hold its shape. It makes it easier for a hot mess like me to apply and not smear or bleed. The next photo is a swatch on my hand, and DAMN that is some bright lipstick. I have always been curious about matte lipsticks but I don’t think I would choose something quite so bold for myself.

FullSizeRender

And here is it on my face. Oh boy, that sure is something. It didn’t apply the way I was expecting. I had to apply 2 coats to really get the pigment even and not too streaky. Even then I still feel like it could have applied more evenly. I had to clean up the edges with a Q-tip so they still aren’t that great but I don’t think I did too badly. I also didn’t prep my lips in any way, no scrub or chapstick or anything so maybe that would have helped if I had done that.

Final thoughts… Overall I think that I would try matte liquid lipstick but maybe in a shade that I find more flattering to me. It’s a weird feeling while you are wearing it, and I felt like I kind of looked like I ate a crayon…. but I feel this is more colour related then anything else.

If anyone has any recommendations or helpful advice, please share!

♥m

Leave a Reply

