My Trip To Vancouver

Hello again!

I am back! Not that I was really gone for long anyways. I am finally settled back in after the holiday weekend and my trip to Vancouver! I had a lot of fun, even though it rained a lot when we were there… I wanted to share with you some of the really fun things I got to do with my boyfriend while we were there!

 

Vancouver Aquarium

dsc_0805We haaaaaad to go to the aquarium! Since I used to work there and I had to compare it to the new Ripley’s Aquarium in Toronto. This was probably one of my favourite things to do, especially since the aquarium is located on Stanley Park. I could spend all day at the aquarium just watching all the animals. And a lot of people don’t realize all the good things that the Vancouver Aquarium does. Not only do they do a lot of research but they are constantly rescuing and releasing animals. This is such an amazing facility and I am so happy that I got to go back and visit, especially after all the renovations!

 

Stanley Park/ Sea Wall

As I said earlier, the Aquarium is in Stanley Park. The park it self is massive and I don’t img_4109think you could see the whole thing in one day. Maybe I will try to do that on my next visit (if it isn’t pouring rain). The park is gorgeous and has all these cool places to see, like a light house or these really beautiful totem polls. Unfortunately we had to cut our adventuring short as is started to down pour on us while walking around the park.

Something that I always recommend to people to do is walk along the Sea Wall. The sea Wall is so long and goes along the ocean. It is so beautiful and is along the park boundaries and then some. It provides some amazing views and a great place to walk! Luckily where we were staying had easy access to the wall and provided some really great views!

Granville Island

img_4125This is something that I love to do. Granville Island has an amazing market! (which is my favourite part). But they are also  known for their craft beers. I could walk around the market all day. There are so many different shops and stalls to see. But the absolutely 100% recommend place you have to go to is Lee’s Donuts. They are made fresh, by hand every day and are MASSIVE and so so delicious.

I also highly recommend going to the Granville Island Brewery, this is where they brew the Granville Island craft beers and you can get to taste them all! We did, and I have to say I realllllyyyyyyy enjoyed them. I’m not a big beer fan but there were quite a few that I would absolutely buy.

The Grouse Grind

This thing is actually nick named ‘Natures Stair Master’. I’m not even kidding. It is a fairlyimg_4119 intense hike up Grouse Mountain, and I had done it before when I was staying there and my bf and I really like walking and hiking together so I I wanted him to do this with me. It was hard (at least for me hahaha I’m out of shape 😦 ) But I had a really good time doing it. The view a the end is worth it, and if I lived out there I would do the Grind all the time.

This is something that I recommend to all of my active friends that visit Van. However, you are actually hiking the side of a mountain so dress appropriately. Seriously, we saw people doing this in jeans and converse shoes. Which can be uncomfortable and potentially dangerous.

Gas Town/ Down Town

img_4134This was something that I feel you should do where ever you go. Going down town is where all the locals go to do fun stuff and see cool things so of course I had to drag my the bf down there. The down town part was pretty good, lots of shops and fun stuff to see and restaurants to go to (and literally the worlds best gelato). However, he was not such a big fan of Gas Town.

Gas Town is more hipstery. Like a lot hipstery. There seem to be a lot of them around pretentious coffee shops and clothing shops in this area. But it is also super cute and very old timey with the lamps, and cobble streets. I definitely enjoyed Gas Town more than my bf did but oh wellll.

 

Our trip was fairly short and it was meant to be a vacation so it was not jam packed full plans. But we did see/do a lot and we walked soooo muchhh. There is only 2 things that I wanted to do that we did’t get a chance to do. 1. Going up to Whistler, its gorgeous and has such spectacular views but the weather was poop so we didn’t end up going. 2. Whale watching, this is something that we both wanted to do but again poopy weather really put a damper of this idea.

Overall we both had a really good time. We were able to relax and explore Vancouver together and I was able to show him my favourite places and things to do. For any one looking to go to Vancouver I hope you go and you love it as much as I do!

img_4108

m♥

Leave a Reply

