Sugar Free For 1 Month

Hello again!

If you have read any of my past posts you may have noticed that I have a slight sugar addiction. I get it from my mom haha!  Her, my sister and myself love allll things sweet! It has been an on going thing in my life and I am hoping to change my relationship with sugar and overall have less of it in my diet.

My sister challenged me to see if we could both go 1 month (30 days) without added sugars in our regular diet. I try not to add sugar to things like my tea or coffee but I have a BIG weakness for baked goods and chocolate! Its actually terrible. I have decided that I am going to document my thoughts and feelings about going sugar free, as well as how I am dealing with it.

It is important to note that this is only for added sugars. Things like fruit or honey and anything else that is naturally sweet is fair game BUT they should not be consumed in mass quantities as they still have high amounts of natural sugars. This also means no more candy, baked goods, cereal and bread …and it makes me very sad. I’m hoping that by doing this my body will have a sort of ‘reset’ and I won’t have cravings for sweet stuff like I used too! Anything else that happens because of this, like weight loss, clearer skin or higher energy levels are just an added bonus!

Here is a list of things I will be trying my hardest to avoid:

  • Baked goods, desserts, candy
  • Sweetened hot drinks ( specialty coffees, hot chocolate, etc.)
  • Sugary drinks
  • Commercial, processed cereals
  • Alcohol
  • Pasta, bread
  • Peanut Butter, Nutella, Jam

Since the 1st of September landed in the middle of the week and it was one of the craziest weeks I have had this summer for work I decided to start on the first Monday of September. I will still do 30 days sugar free but for the sake of my sanity and grocery shopping, I will have a slightly delayed start. Check back here next week to see how my first week goes!

 

♥m

P.S. Check out my sisters blog to see her take on this challenge! Call her Andie

Leave a Reply

