Review: Sephora Birthday Freebie

This is a review of what I chose to as my birthday freebie from Sephora. And for those of you that don’t know, Sephora is a store that sells high(er) end make up and beauty products. They have a points card/ membership dealio that scores you a freebie in your birthday month! So yay me!

Now full disclosure I am not good at makeup. I can nail the basics like concealer, foundation, mascara and filling in brows (which for some people is very hard and it pains me to see #spermbrows). Anywaysssss, when it comes to things like eyeliner & eye shadow it’s hard. And I am still trying to figure out how to do it right. And don’t even get me started on contouring. I look at people do it and I am amazed.

Pretty much make up is hard and I need help. So I spend a lot of time watching tutorials trying to learn and let me tell you, I still suck 😦 but there has been some improvement.

But back to the point of this post. When you go in to Sephora (or online) you are given the choice between 2 products as the birthday give away (unless one of the products is all gone and then you only have 1 choice… suckaaaaa) This year, I chose the Marc Jacobs eye liner and lipstick minis. I don’t remember the other choice but I think it was a face cream? ah well.

marc-jacobs-freebie-sephora-birthday
This is the ad for the freebie

The eye liner is supposed to be something like a gel liner, which I have used something like it before from the Urban Decay line and I like it! It goes on smooth and dark and doesn’t smudge all over my lids through out the day as I have semi-hooded lids. However, just for being a high and mighty name like Marc Jacobs does not always guarantee that the product will be amazing and I kind of felt a little let down by this little eye liner. It was dryer than I was expecting. I has a screw bottom that you can scroll up or down depending on how much you want out at a time when you are using it.  Which is great in some ways because that means that its not just some tiny thing you use like 3 times and then it’s done. But the draw back is that you cant really sharpen it and I prefer a sharp eyeliner pencil.

It didn’t go on as dark as I would have liked. I like my eyeliner blacker than black, like my soul… hahahaha kidding, but I do prefer to have dark eyeliner. It was okay, and I still much prefer my Urban Decay 24/7 gel liner. But the lipstick was awesome! It’s the perfect shade of pink. I don’t usually wear lipstick, it makes me feel weird and then I inevitably forget I’m wearing it and kiss my boyfriend on the face and leave a kiss mark on it. But other than me being dumb, it does on great, it’s such a cute colour and doesn’t get all weird and dry. I will say that eventually it wears off and you will need to reapply to keep he fresh lip all night. I am also afraid to squish it because it is so tiny.

I would say that overall the birthday freebie gets a 6.5/10

It’s not something that I would have bought for myself, but I do enjoy the lipstick.

Let me know your thoughts on the birthday freebie OR share you favourite make up tutorials because I could use all the help I can get! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

