Paleo Cookies!

Please don’t take this as me being some weird health nut. My mom is really in to health and nutrition but like me and my sister (we probably got it from her) we all have a bad sweet tooth especially for baked things. So my mom found these cookies as a healthIER option than regular cookies. Now these are still cookies but they are a much better alternative to the regular cookies, AND they also taste great! The best thing is that yes this is a paleo recipe BUT it doesn’t have anything weird or obscure in it, I went to Bulk Barn and found everything I needed to make these cookies…. and then some extra goodies because its Bulk Barn and how could I not. hahahaha which may defeat the purpose of healthier cookies. 🙂

The recipe is from Oatmeal with a Fork, it is also vegan (if you’re into that). And they are titled as the “best paleo chocolate chip cookies ever” which is a very bold statement but they are not wrong and I totally stand by it.

Here is the list of ingredients

IMG_3108
I used the measuring cup before I took the photo -_-
  1. 1 c. almond meal
  2. scant ¼ t. sea salt
  3. ⅛ t. baking soda
  4. ¼ t. cinnamon, optional, but delicious!
  5. 3 T. coconut oil or butter, melted
  6. 2 T. honey or maple syrup
  7. 1½ t. vanilla
  8. ½-1 t. water, only if/as needed
  9. 2-4 T. chopped dark chocolate, depending on your personal preference (I used 3 T.)

*Tips

  • Now it says that the cinnamon is optional but I 1000000% recommend that you add it.
  • Make sure the coconut oil is melted
  • Only add water if you need it!
  • Don’t add too many chocolate chips…yes there is such a thing as too many. If you do add too many the dough won’t stick together as well
  • FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS

Instructions

IMG_3109
Before baking* full disclosure: ugliest cookies I have ever made
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix the almond meal, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon.
  3. Stir in the coconut oil, honey/maple syrup, and vanilla.
  4. Add in water as needed to bring everything together.
  5. Stir in the chopped chocolate last.
  6. Bake for 10-11 minutes on a well oiled or parchment paper-lined cookie sheet (the edges should be golden).
  7. Let them sit on the pan for 5-10 minutes (they firm up during this time, so this is an important step!).
  8. Remove and enjoy!

 *Tips

  • I didn’t need to add water
  • I didn’t use parchment paper or oiled sheet, they don’t really need it if you have a good non-stick pan
  • Baking time can vary on the thickness and size of your cookies
  • They don’t change colour or spread out with they cook so you really  have to keep an eye on them when you bake them the first time
  • LET THEM SIT AFTER THEY COME OUT OF THE OVEN. They will break apart if you don’t

 

 

And true to my name, my kitchen was indeed messy after I made these… but that’s more because I am messy hahaha. Also, this recipe does not make a lot of cookies, like 8 cookies (this will depend on the size of cookies you prefer, it could make more or less). I doubled the recipe and made one batch chocolate chip and the other one butterscotch chip.

Next time I make these I will cook them longer, add less chocolate chips, and shape them nicer. hahaha Other than that they are amazingly good and I can’t wait to make them again!

 

Here is the link to the recipe again if you missed it earlier!

THE BEST PALEO CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES EVER

Leave a Reply

